If you were hurt in a car accident on the job, you have two cases running at once: a workers’ compensation claim and a lawsuit against the driver who hit you. Somewhere along the way you hear a number — fifty thousand dollars — and it gets attached to the lien. Settle under $50,000, the story goes, and the comp carrier cannot touch it.
That is not the rule. The $50,000 is real, it is in the statutes, and in a work-related car accident it genuinely limits what the carrier can recover. But it is not a settlement threshold, and the size of your settlement is not what determines whether a lien exists. Worse, the assumption cuts the wrong way: a small settlement carries a risk that a large one does not, and it has nothing to do with the lien.
Two accidents means two separate calculations
Where the $50,000 comes from
It is not in the Workers’ Compensation Law at all. It comes from New York’s no-fault statute. Insurance Law § 5102(a) defines basic economic loss as up to $50,000 per person, made up of three things combined:
- necessary medical and rehabilitation expenses, without limitation as to time;
- lost earnings, up to $2,000 per month for not more than three years from the date of the accident;
- other reasonable and necessary expenses, up to $25 per day for not more than one year.
Those three categories share one $50,000 ceiling. They do not each get their own. And the mandatory no-fault endorsement at 11 NYCRR 65-1.1 sets that ceiling per eligible injured person on account of any single accident — which is why two accidents mean two separate $50,000 measurements, not one running total.
Insurance Law § 5104(a) then takes basic economic loss out of your lawsuit. In an action by one covered person against another covered person, arising out of the use or operation of a motor vehicle in New York, you cannot recover basic economic loss from the other driver. That is the no-fault trade: it gets paid regardless of who was at fault, and in exchange it is off the table in the tort case.
What Section 29(1-a) actually says
Workers’ Compensation Law § 29(1) gives the comp carrier a lien on your third-party recovery for what it has paid. Section 29(1-a) carves out an exception, and it is the provision behind the $50,000 story.
Read it and the first thing you notice is that there is no dollar figure in it. It says the carrier shall have no lien on the proceeds of any recovery received pursuant to Insurance Law § 5104(a) — whether by judgment, settlement or otherwise — for compensation and medical benefits paid which were in lieu of first party benefits which another insurer would have otherwise been obligated to pay under Article 51, the no-fault article.
The logic is straightforward once you see it. When you are hurt in a car accident at work, comp pays, and the comp carrier ends up writing checks the no-fault carrier would otherwise have written. Since § 5104(a) means you can never recover those amounts from the driver who hit you, the comp carrier is not allowed to reach into your recovery for them either. It cannot take back out of your settlement something the settlement was never allowed to include. The Court of Appeals in Matter of Johnson v. Buffalo & Erie County Private Indus. Council, 84 NY2d 13 (1994), described the subdivision as remedial legislation, enacted to undo a result reached in Granger v. Urda that had effectively made the injured worker a self-insurer for basic economic loss.
The carrier is not always left holding the bag. The same subdivision points it to the loss transfer procedure in Insurance Law § 5105 — a mandatory inter-company arbitration against the no-fault insurer rather than a claim against you. That route is open only where at least one vehicle involved weighed more than 6,500 pounds unloaded or was used principally to carry persons or property for hire. It is therefore closed in the ordinary collision between two passenger cars, and ordinarily open where one of the vehicles was being driven for hire.
So the $50,000 arrives second-hand. It is the ceiling on basic economic loss, and basic economic loss is the measure of what no-fault would have owed.
Two things that matter more than the number
First, the recovery has to be one under § 5104(a). That subdivision governs suits between covered persons. If the driver who hit you was not a covered person — an uninsured vehicle, for instance, or in some circumstances an out-of-state one — the recovery is not obtained pursuant to § 5104(a), and the § 29(1-a) analysis may not apply to it at all. That question deserves an answer early, because everything else here rests on it.
Second, this is a line-by-line exercise, not a subtraction. People hear “the first $50,000 comes off the lien” and treat it as arithmetic against the total. It is not. What § 29(1-a) protects is the payments no-fault would have been obligated to make, so each item in the carrier’s ledger has to be tested against the definition.
Some of that testing is favorable and not obvious. In Dietrick v. Kemper Ins. Co. (American Motorists Ins. Co.), 76 NY2d 248 (1990), the Court of Appeals held that awards for permanent partial disability and serious facial disfigurement may generally be deemed compensation in lieu of first party benefits — and denied the carrier its lien. A schedule loss of use award is not allocable to any particular period of disability, which is why the $2,000-per-month limit is not applied to carve an excess out of it. The Third Department reasoned the same way in Matter of Cruz v. City of N.Y. Dept. of Children’s Servs., 123 AD3d 1390 (3d Dept 2014).
Some of it runs the other way. In Johnson, the Court of Appeals observed that compensation for lost earnings paid more than three years after the accident cannot be basic economic loss, because § 5102(a)(2)’s cap is written in time as well as dollars — so at least a portion of such payments falls outside § 29(1-a)’s protection. The three-year limit survives Dietrick. The same is true of lost wage payments above $2,000 in a month, and of anything paid once the $50,000 of basic economic loss has been exhausted.
Which is why a carrier that has paid $40,000 on a claim may have almost no lien, or may have a real one. The total tells you very little on its own. The payment ledger, broken out by category and date, tells you everything.
Two accidents means two separate calculations
If you have two car accidents and two claims, resist the urge to add them together. Each accident carries its own $50,000 of basic economic loss, its own accident date, and its own three-year window. Two claims that have paid $30,000 and $35,000 are not “over the $50,000 line” — there is no combined line.
The lien is accident-specific too. Section 29 gives the carrier a lien on the recovery obtained from the person who caused that injury. Where the same body parts are hurt twice and the two claims have paid for overlapping treatment, how the lien is allocated between them is not well settled, and you should expect the carriers to have views about it. That is a question to resolve before signing anything, not after.
The lien is not the only thing the carrier can do
Getting the lien to zero is not the end of the analysis, because the carrier has a second tool. Under § 29(4), it can stop paying future benefits until your net third-party recovery is used up — the offset, sometimes called the holiday or the credit.
Two things about it matter here.
First, the offset carries the same limitation the lien does. Cruz states the rule with the restriction built in: the carrier may take the credit as long as the payments are not first party benefits for basic economic loss or payments made in lieu of first party benefits under the No-Fault Law. The same decision confirms that a schedule loss of use award is not subject to the offset.
Second, the carrier has to claim it at the right moment. In Matter of Brisson v. County of Onondaga, 6 NY3d 273 (2006), the Court of Appeals held that a carrier consenting to a third-party settlement must preserve its right to an offset expressly and unambiguously when giving that consent, or the right is waived. The carrier in Brisson had no lien at all, because what it had paid was in lieu of first party benefits — and it lost the offset as well by not reserving it. The consent letter is a document worth reading carefully.
The thing that can actually cost you: Section 29(5) consent
Here is the part that gets buried, and it is the reason a modest settlement deserves more care rather than less.
Section 29(5) provides that a compromise of a third-party action at an amount less than the compensation provided for by the Workers’ Compensation Law may be made only with the carrier’s written approval, obtained before the compromise — or, failing that, with a compromise order from a justice of the court in which the third-party action was pending, obtained within three months after the settlement.
Note what the measure is. It is the compensation provided for under the statute, which is not the same as the figure paid to date and is often larger. It is not the $50,000 no-fault number, which has nothing to do with this test. And it does not turn on whether a lien exists: in Johnson, the claimant had a colorable § 29(1-a) argument that there was no lien on his file, and the Board still barred his further compensation for settling a $10,000 third-party case without consent. The Court of Appeals reinstated that decision.
That is the consequence worth internalizing. Settling without the required consent does not increase the lien. It forfeits your future compensation benefits going forward — while leaving what has already been paid alone. For someone out of work for a year and relying on weekly checks, that is the whole case.
There is a repair if the three-month window closes: an application for approval nunc pro tunc, ordinarily to Supreme Court — the statute points to the court in which the third-party action was pending. Courts apply a three-part test: the amount of the settlement must be reasonable, the delay must not be attributable to the claimant’s own fault or neglect, and the carrier must not have been prejudiced by the delay. Furtado v. Mario’s Bakery, 17 AD3d 527 (2d Dept 2005); Matter of Consolazio (Merchants Mut. Ins. Co.), 272 AD2d 614 (2d Dept 2000). It is granted sometimes. It is not something to plan around. Consent obtained in advance costs nothing; approval obtained afterward is a motion you can lose.
Driving for Uber or Lyft: the Black Car Fund
If you were driving for a rideshare or black car service, the compensation coverage has its own answer in New York. The Black Car Operators’ Injury Compensation Fund, created by Article 6-F of the Executive Law, provides workers’ compensation coverage for covered black car operators, and the definition of a central dispatch facility in § 160-cc was written to include transportation network companies by name.
For a walkthrough written for drivers, covering who is covered, when, and how to file, see the Black Car Fund for rideshare and black car drivers.
There is a limit worth knowing. The coverage runs to injury arising out of and in the course of providing covered services — dispatched trips. A driver who is logged into the app but has not accepted a trip is a common fact pattern and a different question.
What Black Car Fund coverage does not settle is which no-fault policy stood behind the vehicle you were driving. That is a separate inquiry and worth pinning down early, because the entire § 29(1-a) analysis depends on what no-fault would have owed.
What to actually do before you settle
- Get the carrier’s payment ledger on each claim, broken out by indemnity and medical, with dates. The lien analysis cannot be done without it.
- Confirm the other driver was a covered person, so that the recovery is one under § 5104(a).
- Fix each accident date and run the three-year window from it.
- Find out what compensation is provided for on each claim — not only what has been paid — and compare it to each proposed settlement, to know whether § 29(5) consent is required.
- Get written consent before you sign a release. If a settlement has already happened without it, the three-month clock is running.
- Read the consent letter to see whether the carrier reserved its lien and its offset.
- Keep the two claims from being settled against each other — separate accidents, separate calculations, separate consents.
The short version
There is no rule that a settlement under $50,000 defeats a workers’ compensation lien. The $50,000 is the no-fault basic economic loss ceiling, and in a work-related car accident § 29(1-a) does remove the lien from compensation and medical benefits that stood in for no-fault. But that is established by working through the payment ledger against the statutory categories, not by comparing the settlement to a number.
And the real exposure in a small settlement is not the lien at all. It is settling without the consent § 29(5) requires, and losing the compensation benefits you were counting on going forward.
Talk to a New York workers’ compensation attorney
A work-related car accident with a compensation claim and a lawsuit running together is one of the situations where having the same attorney on both files matters most, because settling one has consequences for the other. Workers’ Compensation Board hearings in New York can be attended virtually, so we represent injured workers throughout the state, not only in Staten Island and Brooklyn.
Consultations are free. If we don’t recover money for you, we don’t get paid. Call 718.701.2776.
This article is general information about New York workers’ compensation and no-fault procedure. It is not legal advice, and reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Every case turns on its own facts, its own payment history and its own accident dates. Attorney Advertising.